Welcome to Z-Pita in Port Jefferson NY, where the finest in Mediterranean cuisine is brought to Long Island. - 631-476-7510


Nicole H. Middle Island, NY 4-26-14

This place rocks! The breakfast was delicious and the plates were huge! I will def come back for more!!!!


Ira K. Town of Brookhaven, NY 1-16-14

I have lived in the area for 27 years.  Z pita is by far one of my favorite resturants.  The service is excellent and the food is always fresh and of the highest quality.  The restrooms are impeccably clean and it shows that the owner is concerned about every detail.  To boot the prices are reasonable.  I had the sesame tuna and it is truly sushi grade or better.


Nick K. Huntington Station, NY 2-24-14

Excellent food and great looking restaurant.   Owner is super nice and is very involved with his customers. Would highly recommend.


Mellisa P. Port Jefferson NY. 1-9-2013

The best Greek restaurant in town.  Take out or sit inside Joey Z will make sure you are content.  Delicious food all the way around. Cozy and friendly atmosphere. Variety is the spice of life.  Large portions, nice wines,excellent service.
As the Chairperson for “A Taste of Port Jefferson”, Z-Pita has been a participant for the past 5 years.  Joey Z never says no!


 Chelsea D. Mt Sinai NY 1-2-2013

This is one of my favorite places in Port Jeff for dining out. My most recent visit was my favorite, by far. It is a bit cramped and is best for parties of two-four. My friend and I shared a Greek Pizza to start which was fantastic. We also both ordered the Honey Maple Turkey Panini and we devoured it. I paired my panini with a greek salad while my friend got the sweet potato fries and honey maple dipping. We each ordered a glass of Riesling. The reason why I love this place so much is because they give you a FULL glass of wine instead of pouring filling up 1/4 of the glass with an expensive beverage. I always feel like I’m getting my money’s worth here.

Best time is winter! It just has that cozy, warm feel. It is especially cute and popular during Valentine’s Day! Make your reservations early when they announce their V-Day menu!

p.s. Fondue is also incredible here. Just an all-around pleasant experience.


Eric P. – Baldwin NY Customer Review – 6-10-2013

I was with my wife for the Port Jefferson hounds on the sound parade when we went to lunch at z pita. This restaurant was recommended to me by a local. The food was every good including a appetizer of Greek spinach pie and out two pita main courses. Service was excellent and very responsive.The cost to value ratio here is bout average for this type of restaurant.All in all this was a very good experience and I look forward to returning in the future.


Jeff P. East Setauket NY.  2/6/2013

Went for the Sunday Brunch and was really surprised at how good everything was.  It is a bit cramped so keep it to no more than 4 people per party and you’ll be OK. The food was fresh and plentiful and the service was excellent.  Owner/ Manager was very much present and involved and it shows.


Greggory L Plainview, NY 6/7/2012

This place is as awesome as it gets. I usually only use this site to read reviews, but after the way I was treated plus the way the food tasted, giving them a positive review is the least I can do. I ordered the Penne ala Vodka, which tasted like it was straight from Italy. I believe my date ordered the Salmon, and she was in heaven. I am pretty sure just about everything on the menu is awesome. I can defintiley say that out of all of the restaurants to go to in the town of Port Jefferson, this is by far the best.No only was the food unreal, but the people working there really tried their hardest to treat me like a king. Service was fast, the waitresses’s manners were as polite as can be, and the entire ZPITA staff was very friendly.If more restaurants could be like ZPITA I would definitely start going out to eat a whole lot more.-


Steve P Coram, NY 8/4/2012

I cant say enough good things about this place. The service was incredible and they made me a custom dish that was off the menu (thanks alot). The quality of food is something other resturants should learn from. Great job and GREAT STAFF. We will be coming back again and again. I just hope the tex mex makes a comeback!


Rama R Setauket-East Setauket, NY  10/14/2012

We travel all over the world, But Zpita is undoubtedly the best in Customer service and hospitality. I am a vegetarian and they are ready to modify the menu in any way you want it! If there was an award for the best host, I would give it to the owner JOEY! He greets everyone who walks in to his restaurant and gives equal attention to every single one of them. My kids love this place and wouldn’t mind going there every weekend! My son says they have the best Salmon and Mozzarella sticks! The restaurant is divided into 2 sections, one for family with kids and the other for adults, so everyone feels at place! Hats off to Z PITA!!


Laura C. Mt Sinai, NY  on  ‘Yelp.com  11/12/2012

Big fan of Z Pita’s Honey Maple Grilled Chicken Salad.  Great service, great food.  Will definitely eat there again!!


Robert K. Miller Place, NY  on ‘Yelp.com 7/20/2012

We come here often. Good service, great people, and a good menu. After my Daughter was diagnosed with a gluten allergy the owner Joe went out and stocked gluten free pasta for her. Great local place.


Lance L Glen Cove, NY  7/8/2012

Z Pita in Port Jefferson is a Mediterranean Italian / Greek influenced Restaurant that is sure to please!  I Had the Eggplant Special which is a Eggplant rolletini but stuffed with spinach and Feta topped with Red sauce and Mozzarella!  Unique and awesome.  Takes like I was at my Italian Grandmothers table!  Family Friendly if you have young children!  Staff was Great!
Pita’s, as the bread for the table, served with olive oil and Tzatziki sauce. NICE!   Prices are fair for the area.  The Owner Mr. Zee and his staff are VERY friendly and hospitable.  The ambiance of the restaurant is quiet, old world Italian charm and Cozy.  I recommend it and will definitely be back!


Andrew B. on yelp.com 7/4/2012

Z Pita was an unexpected gem; home cooking like an Italian Mama’s.  We stopped from out of town on our way to the ferry. We enjoyed the complementary grilled Pita with cucumber yogurt & spiced olive oil before our dinners; seared  Ahi Tuna on a warm spinach salad & in a pita wrap. Prices were reasonable. Ambiance & decor were soothing & pleasant. Our wait staff were very attentive & personable. They paid particular attention to our need to be on a ferry in an hour. We met the owner, Joey, who took the time to be a gracious host. We learned that the recipes were handed down from his Italian mother who is undoubtedly a great cook. Joey’s parents dine there 6 nights/week and brunch on Sunday; the ultimate approval from the Mama herself!  We will be back & will highly recommend to our LI friends!


David M Mt. Sinai, NY 7/3/2012

Great steak and the wine list is pretty good:)

Libby H.  9/18/2011

We tried Z Pita for brunch today because Toast was a 30 minute wait. What a good choice!  I had the eggs Benedict and they eggs were made perfectly, just the way I liked them, runny yolks, firm whites. The potatoes that came with my meal were crunchy and well seasoned outside and moist potato inside. My daughter ordered an egg white omelette with prosciutto, mozzarella and sundries tomatoes and ate it all up!  Oatmeal was disappointing, they are on the right path, it just needed more taste or stuff to put on it. Waitstaff was friendly, efficient, attentive, and meal was served quickly. I will be going back again!

Tiney R. on yelp.co.  1/4/2012

My husband and I come here often, and we love the food. The service is awesome, we don’t have anything bad to say about it. The owner is there every night and he is so pleasant. It is a little pricey but the service makes it worth it. I would highly recommend Z Pita.

Boatingtimesli.com 6/1/2012

Whether you dock your boat at the Port Jefferson Town Marina, Setauket Yacht Club, or at Danfords, and stroll down Main Street during the morning, afternoon, or evening, Z-Pita appeals. Breakfast is served every morning, and cheese or chocolate fondue is available every night, along with a primarily Mediterranean lunch and dinner menu.

Once you’re seated in this high-volume, low-elbow room restaurant, you might feel as if you mistakenly wandered into a large family celebration. However, it’s clear that you’re not crashing the party by the way the friendly wait staff welcomes you.

Does snacking on tasty warm pita bread make a menu more enticing? Though I’m not sure, many selections sounded so appealing that it was hard to choose. Did we prefer to start with hummus, Greek pizza, fried calamari, escarole and beans, or spinach pie? What about a Greek salad or one topped with filet mignon or fresh tuna?

Z-Pita’s menu didn’t make it easy to narrow down the entrées, either. Paninis, Joey Zee’s Gourmet burger, a gyro dinner, fettuccine alfredo, moussaka, pizza with meatballs or surf and turf? Then there’s “Joey’s Special,” offering marinated chunks of chicken served over pita, topped with tomatoes and feta cheese, accompanied by sweet potato fries and a honey maple dipping sauce. Whole wheat and gluten-free pastas are available, as well as multiple choices for vegans and vegetarians, such as six different veg-pita platters (I recommend the two-handful falafel).

Before heading back to your boat, the “Hot Baked Coney Island Pretzels” (offered in twos, with or without cheese) may entice you for dessert.  Or how about finishing a meal that started with strawberries, marshmallows, and bananas dipped into dark or milk chocolate fondue with a slice of baklava, or enjoying a banana and nutella crepe after a cheese and filet mignon fondue? That’s the true fun of Z-Pita:  it’s your party and you can eat what you want to!